Just Beadey

just because…….

December Art Bead Scene Challenge – Just In Time

on December 31, 2012

Hi, it’s been a few weeks since I visited this page, Christmas seems to have taken over, but it was lovely and worth it.  I hadn’t planned to enter the Art Bead Scene challenge for December but a free weekend and an urge to get back to my beads and pliers changed the plan and I’m very pleased with my last minute entry.  This month’s artwork was Sleeping Beauty by Erte and is relatively modern having been completed in 1983 (well that’s modern to me!) , 

 
Sleeping Beauty by Erté, 1983
 
Erté’s characteristic style found a new and enthusiastic market in the 1960s, and the artist responded to renewed demand by creating a series of colorful lithographic prints and sculpture.  He was famous for his elegant fashion and movie designs.
 
My design endeavours to capture the colours and the simplicty of the picture, not forgetting that the beauty is awaiting for her prince to come.
 
 
P1000794_edited-1
 
 
The heart shaped lampwork bead made by Judith Johnston represents the sleeping beauty and the other beads depict the various colours in the picture and are a mixture of lampwork, black agate tubes, crystal quartz and glass beads with a few sequins thrown in.    The bracelet is strung on waxed linen, this is the first time I’ve used this thread and I have to say it was lovely to work with.  I’ve tried to portray the simplicity of the picture, the anticipation as well as the vibrant bursts of colour.  I’ll be looking out for my Prince when I wear it!
 
Leave a Reply

just because.......

Just Beadey

just because.......

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

